Go to Japanese Page


The 7th CNS-EFES Summer School will be held at Center for Nuclear Study (CNS), the University of Tokyo in RIKEN Wako Campus.


This Summer School aims at providing basic knowledge and perspectives of nuclear physics for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers. It consists of lectures by leading scientists in the field of both experimental and theoretical nuclear physics. Each lecture will start with an introductory talk from the fundamental point of view and end with up-to-date topics in the relevant field. During summer school short presentations by students and post-docs are also planned.


CNS welcomes gladly participations of young physicists wide from the world, especially from Asian countries. The organizer may provide living expenses of young students within the limited resource. We can also cover travel expenses of a limited number of participants. If you need the financial supports, please contact us.


*        Date

Aug. 26 - Sep. 1, 2008

*        Venue

Nishina Hall (2nd floor of the Nishina Memorial Building in RIKEN)

(Access to CNS and Nishina Memorial Building)

Aug. 28: Koshiba Hall at Hongo campus, University of Tokyo

(Access to Koshiba Hall)


This summer school is supported by JSPS Core-to-Core Program "International Research Network for Exotic Femto Systems (EFES)" and its matching partner by US DOE, Japan-US Theory Institute for Physics with Exotic Nuclei (JUSTIPEN).



Contact: Email: kawabata_at_cns.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp


Back to CNS Home Page



*        Lecture Program

*        Program of Student Session

*        Registration

*        Poster

*        Lecture Note

*        Photo Album

*        Report

*        Organizing Committee

*        Contact




*         Lecture Program


The lecture program given in CNS-EFES08 is as follows:


*       P. Van Isacker (GANIL, France)

Dynamical Symmetries in Nuclei


*       U.-G. Meissner (Bonn, Germany)

Nuclear Force and Chiral Effective Field Theory


*       T. Nakamura (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

Invariant Mass Spectroscopy of Neutron Halo Nuclei


*       T. Nakatsukasa (RIKEN Nishina Center, Japan)

Time-Dependent-Density-Functional Theory


*       A. Ohnishi (Yukawa Institute of Theoretical Physics, Japan)

Nuclear Matter Equation of State


*       T. Otsuka (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Structure of Exotic Nuclei


*      A. Richter (Darmstadt, Germany)

Collective Excitations and Superfluidity in Nuclei

Fine Structure of Pygmy and Giant Resonances, Scales and Level Densities

Nuclear Structure in Astrophysics

Quantum Chaos in Billiards and Nuclei


*       J. P. Schiffer (Argonne National Labolatory, USA)

Nuclear Reactions for Nuclear Structure


*       M. Wakasugi (RIKEN Nishina Center, Japan)

SCRIT New Technique for Electron-RI Collision


The lecture program can be downloaded here.

Go to Top of This Page


*        Program of Student Session


The program of Oral Session can be downloaded here.


Go to Top of This Page


*         Registration


On-line registration is closed.


Go to Top of This Page


*         Poster


Posters of CNS-EFES08 in pdf file format:


Poster #1 (day)

Poster #2 (night)

Go to Top of This Page


*        Lecture Note


Lecture notes can be downloaded here.


*        P. Van Isacker (1-1, 1-2, 2, 3, 4)

*        U.-G. Meissner (1, 2, 3, 4)

*        T. Nakamura (all)

*        T. Nakatsukasa (1, 2)

*        A. Ohnishi (all)

*        T. Otsuka (1, 2, 3)

*        A. Richter (1, 2, 3, 4)

*        J. P. Schiffer (1, 2)

*        M. Wakasugi (all)




*        Photo Album


*        School Photo

*        Welcome Party

*        Lectures

*        Student Sessions

*        Poster Session

*        RIBF Tour

*        Farewell Party


All of the photos can be downloaded as a gzipped tar ball (52MB).


Go to Top of This Page


*        Report


Report on the 7th CNS-EFES Summer School is available.


*        Report on the 7th CNS-EFES Summer School (PDF, 10MB)


Go to Top of This Page


*        Organizing Committee


Takaharu Otsuka, CNS and Department of Physics, University of Tokyo (school master)

Susumu Shimoura, CNS (chairperson)

Hideyuki Sakai, Department of Physics, University of Tokyo

Shigeru Kubono, CNS

Hideki Hamagaki, CNS

Toshio Suzuki, Nihon University and CNS

Naoyuki Itagaki, Department of Physics, University of Tokyo

Takashi Nakatukasa, RIKEN Nishina Center

Takahiro Kawabata, CNS (secretary)

Hidetoshi Yamaguchi, CNS (secretary)


Go to Top of This Page


*         Contact


Takahiro Kawabata

Center for Nuclear Study,

Graduate School of Science, University of Tokyo

c/o RIKEN, 2-1 Hirosawa, Wako, Saitama 351-0198, Japan

Tel: +81-48-464-4585

Fax: +81-48-464-4554

Email: kawabata_at_cns.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp


Go to Top of This Page



Go to CNS Home Page